top of page

My Piece of Apple Pie

Moment: Saturday, August 15th, 2020 at 11:00 PM CST

"Happy birthday because you were born in Eastern Standard Time!"

This past weekend, I got to ring in my 21st year of life with the people I love most, both at home with my family and over Zoom, and it was an incredible reminder of how blessed I am. Thank you so much to every single one of you who called me, texted me, Facebook/Instagram messaged me, prayed for me, sang happy birthday on my porch at midnight, recorded me an audiobook, created a card for me, or played cheesy online games with me. You truly made my pandemic birthday one of the most memorable birthdays ever.

I don’t know how many of you are familiar with VeggieTales, but there’s an episode called Madame Blueberry, which is about a blueberry who is always “blue” even though she has absolutely everything she could ever want. Towards the end of the film, she encounters a little girl who is celebrating her birthday with a slice of pie, and she sings a song that has been stuck in my head since the first time I watched the film as a child. I was reminded again of this song on my birthday (I had cake instead of pie though), and it goes a little something like this:


I thank God for this day,

For the sun in the sky,

For my mom and my dad,

For my piece of apple pie!

For our home on the ground,

For His love that's all around,

That's why I say thanks every day!


Because a thankful heart is a happy heart!

I'm glad for what I have,

That's an easy way to start!

For the love that He shares,

'Cause He listens to my prayers,

That's why I say thanks every day!

Her gratitude for the little things is what inspired the gratitude log in my journal, and I hope I never let go of that valuable perspective, even if it came from an animated cartoon I watched in Sunday School. I'll admit, I wasn't thrilled to have my last semester of college and graduation moved online, but when I think about that song and how the girl thanks God for the life-giving sun, her family, her home, and even her pie, it reminds me that life is just as much about the little things.

It has been 5 months since I went home to shelter-in-place with my family, and even though it felt like the days just blended together and all of a sudden I’m back on campus, going through my journal and celebrating my birthday made me realize that I still have SO much to be thankful for. Last week I gave y'all the challenge of writing down one thing each day that made you smile, and doing that for over a year now has made me more aware of the amazing things that are happening around me. This blog is called “For This Very Moment” because I truly believe that every moment is worth celebrating, and I'm so grateful to have celebrated 21 whole years of moments. Here's to another year!


Subscribe Form

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • instagram
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page