top of page

2023 and Me

Moment: January 1st, 2023 at 2:34

"Happy New Year my friend :) New Years Resolution is to finally save the world like we're supposed to"

Last year, my friend and I both won "Most Likely to Save the World" at our Med School Prom, and as we've seen by the many happenings this past year, there is a LOT of saving to be done. I don't want to be a downer and list all of the horrible global events that transpired this year, but I'm sure plenty of them come to mind. However, I hope that as you reminisce, there are moments of joy that come to mind as well.


I didn't make of list of one for each day like in previous years, but some of those moments of joy include teaching a lecture to my own class, leading worship for my graduate fellowship, taking on the role of Director of Training for UnboundAustin, meeting my brand-new niece, seeing NeedToBreathe live in concert, cruising to Alaska, apparating to Harry Potter World, and finishing 1.5 years of medical school.


2022 was stressful, joyful, defeating, empowering, and everything in between, so the song that I chose for last year, "Promises," was very fitting with the lyrics, "Though the storms may come and the winds may blow, I'll remain steadfast. And let my heart learn, when You speak a word, it will come to pass" This song served as a continual reminder to trust God and be willing to go out of my comfort zone. One very relevant example: singing this very song IN SPANISH at a SPANISH service (for context, I don't speak Spanish).

Part of me wanted to just keep this song as my theme song for 2023 as well, because it seems to still be very relevant to my life, but I wanted to switch gears and choose a song of gratitude for the fulfillment of the promises God has made to me. We sang the song "I Thank God" at our graduate student retreat, and it just has the most fun youth-camp vibes that always bring a smile to my face. In 2023, I want to take on the mindset of being grateful in ALL things, because despite the minor day-to-day inconveniences or major difficulties, I can always just be thankful that I'm standing on solid ground.

My promise verse for this year comes from Isaiah 43, which is a very special passage for me because my grandfather prayed this scripture portion over me when I was baptized 10 years ago. It's a simple yet profound sentiment that I know in my mind and heart, but definitely can tend to forget sometimes, especially in light of the many hurdles I can see in 2023 that are scary.

"Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you...Do not be afraid, for I am with you"

I can think of no better way to wrap this post up than with this verse, and I hope it reminds you that you are precious, honored, and loved - here's to 2023!





Subscribe Form

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • instagram
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page