top of page

Hindsight is 2020

Moment: December 31st, 2020 at 10:45 PM CST

"Now that 2020 is almost over, you can FINALLY stop making all of those 20/20 puns!"


Whew, we made it to 2021!


I was reading through my "2020 Vision" where I had written my resolutions/goals for 2020, and it was interesting to reflect on these goals that I had set for myself when the world looked very different. It can be quite humbling to realize that even making such hopes and plans for yourself is a privilege, because everything can be taken away in an instant.


I had five categories of goals: faith, music, productivity, communication, and memories. These are five important aspects of my life, and although I wasn't able to check off all of the goals I had laid out for myself, I think I have grown a lot in these areas. Rather than dwelling on "failures," I want to celebrate the truly unexpected ways in which God worked in my life.



Faith:

Finish my 2-year read-through of the Bible:

Fill out my gratitude log every day:


I am happy to report that I made it all the way to Revelation! God's Word has been an incredible source of strength, and I have loved stumbling across verses that apply to my personal circumstances even through the words were penned thousands of years ago. It was a constant reassurance that

God is not a God of old - He is a God of the present and is walking with us now.

Gratitude was probably the most important attitude to maintain during 2020, but it was truly an exercise and sometimes I had to rack my brain to find just ONE thing to be thankful to God for. Whether it was a joke in a Zoom class, an opportunity to connect with another person, or even just the fact that I'm alive, filling out my log was a daily reminder of God's goodness and humanity's resilience.



Music:

Listen to a new artist every week: +

Learn new bar chords on the guitar: -


My Spotify 2020 review said that I discovered 775 new artists, which would mean I achieved this goal by leaps and bounds, but I wouldn't really count all of them. However, I made efforts to listen to new musicians and be inspired by the way that artists have adapted to the COVID-induced virtual stage, so I do share the sentiment that "even in 2020, you still found ways to grow."

I still marvel at the way people are able to collaborate even if they cannot physically be together. There have been so many online concerts, virtual choirs, and this quarantine rendition of "When You Believe" brings tears to my eyes every time I listen to it. The message that "there can be miracles when you believe" is so important to remember, especially now.


Productivity:

Workout 4 times a week:

Wake up by 7 am everyday: +


Establishing any kind of workout routine or sleep schedule became really difficult once everything shut down, making it next to impossible to separate work/school and home, but I knew I had to learn how to prioritize these aspects of my health. In the past, sleep and exercise have been the first to go when there was a lot to get done, and in college, it always seems like there's a competition of who slept the least. Going for a walk every day allowed me to stretch my legs and soak up some sun, and sticking to a (relatively) consistent sleep schedule helped me learn to manage my time in a way that puts my health first.


Communication:

Brush up on Spanish: -

Review Hindi: -


I definitely dropped the ball on learning Spanish and Hindi, but language is an incredibly important aspect of communication. I have learned so much about the application of language to communicate in a variety of ways, especially digitally, because in our virtual world, communication truly is key.


The way in which we describe this pandemic seems like a language all on its own. Buzzwords such as unprecedented, challenging, and new normal went from phrases of encouragement to overused clichés in a matter of months. We learned to differentiate preventative measures including lockdown, quarantine, self-isolation, and social distancing. The fight against COVID-19 to flatten the curve is led by medical heroes on the frontlines and supported by essential workers. The way in which we have established our own ways of defining different elements relevant to the pandemic is inspiring, because if people can come together and agree on what words to use, there is hope that they can collaborate to take action as well.


Memories:

Blog once a week: -

Journal more: I wasn't able to keep up with blogging on this site every week, but I have loved sharing little moments in my life with you all. Thank you to all of you who read my blog, reach out to talk about something I've written, and even share it with others. Whether you have been here for the 1.5 years that I've been writing, or just stumbled across my page today, I appreciate you being here.

I didn't stop writing completely though, because I also had incredible opportunities to write blog posts and articles for different websites, and I also kept up with journaling with a new-found fervor once the pandemic began. I realized I wanted to have a record of this time in history to reflect on and share with the next generation after seeing a post that said -

"Just think, kids in the future may interview you for their school project about the pandemic."

I know it's a cliché, but these truly are unprecedented times. There have been many pandemics in the past, but never during such an age of globalization, and we are living through an era that will be written in history books for generations to come.



2021 Goals:

For my 2021 resolutions, I decided to take a different approach. Rather than goals, my resolutions are priorities that I am establishing for myself. I tried to make them short and sweet so I could remember them easily, and wrote them on an index card to keep in my wallet to have with me at all times.


God over All - My relationship with God comes before anyone or anything else

Progress over Perfection - Strive to grow and not be afraid to try new things

Health over Homework - Physical and mental health comes before school/work

Truth over Trends - Stand firm in the word of God and the science of His creation, and do not be swayed by the world

Fun over Function - It's okay to do things just for the fun of it, without serving a purpose or fulfilling a responsibility


I'm hoping that these resolutions will not just change my lifestyle, but my mindset as well, so that I will learn to make decisions that are better for me in the long-run. It's hard to imagine what the future will look like, but regardless, I want to invest in my future self. As for my present self: 2021, please be good :)

Subscribe Form

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • instagram
  • Black YouTube Icon
bottom of page